97 mariner 50hpi fourstroke ran out of oil

saltlifer

Cadet
Good afternoon all.i am consideri.g purchase of a 50hp fourstroke that ran out of oil.the motor is very clean and appears to be well cared for.my question is is this motor worth the rebuild and will i need a ton of special tools to do it.i am an ase certified auto mechanic of twenty years and fairly knowledgable about two stroke outboards but not four strokes.

carholme

Rear Admiral
Re: 97 mariner 50hpi fourstroke ran out of oil

Unless you know something about the engine which you are not saying, why would you want to risk it? Have you seen the engine, is it seized or turning, done a compression test? How well cared for was it, if they ran it out of oil?

There are some special tools and I can send you the service manual and parts list if you PM me with an email address and s/n if you have it. Each section of the manual will outline the special tools necessary.

Gerry

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Gee, how was it run out of oil? Did it have a leak?

saltlifer

Cadet

I will be going to see the motor tomorrow after work.it belongs to a friend of a friend. He stated that the motor was checked out and fluids changed.and said the motor "blew up" on the second trip out.oil was checked and it was empty.i will definatly repost tomorrow evening to let you know what i found out about this motor.

quicktach

Petty Officer 1st Class

Unless you know what you're doing, and it sounds like your outboard experience is almost nil, probably best to stay away from it.

Timestep

Petty Officer 1st Class

Run, run quickly !

saltlifer

Cadet

Are they that complex?or is it a parts/price issue.i have been into any four stroke marine engines, but perfomed all the rebuilds top and bottom on my yamaha race bikes.i can get this motor for under 100bucks so if worst case is present i could part it out for a small profit.

carholme

Rear Admiral