Mercury 40hp Tach Install

logain

Cadet
I recently purchased a 1983 40hp Mercury for my boat. The motor was setup for a pontoon boat originally. I had to buy a separate control box for it. I picked one up from a guy on craigslist. Control box is working just fine with the motor. I recently bought a tach wiring harness to plug into my control box that matched the pinout of my controller. I bought a Faria tach off of Ebay and it just came in. Looking at the instructions from Faria, I need 3 wires. One for ignition terminal, one for ground, and one for signal. My harness is a 4 plug, 4 wire, but only two wires are actually equipped with connectors, solid white and black. The other two, a brown and white with a stripe, are tucked away and taped up. What do I need to do to make this work. :confused: Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time having such a setup. I have only had tiller 6-9.9's up to this point. :)

S 4 PN Tach Harness 84 69108A5 Mercury Mariner Outboard Boat Motor Part 3 | eBay

Faria TC9817A Inboard Outboard Boat Tachometer Gauge | eBay

http://faria-instruments.com/site_manuals/IS0012u.pdf

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Re: Mercury 40hp Tach Install

Not knowing you setup, you may have bought the wrong type tachometer for your engine. It looks like you bought a tach for an Inboard/Outboard engine instead of an Out Board engine. So that tach may not work properly... An OB tach from Faria will have a switchable selector switch on the back of the tach to select your OB's pulse output. Not sure about the I/O tachs though. I'd say to contact Faria and find out if it will work and they can tell you how to set it up if it will work with your OB... They will know one way or the other...

alanfox55

Chief Petty Officer