1979 Mercury 50 WON'T TILT, even in forward

stevland

Recruit
I'm back with another question.

I'm new to all of this, but I'm going to try and use the correct terminology.

Getting ready to trailer my boat and drop it in the water, but I discovered that my '79 Mercury 2-stroke 50 won't tilt, even when the Mercontrol forward gear.

I've been able to overcome this by removing the tilt pin thrust rod. I've sprayed down all of the corresponding parts with penetrating oil.

I see what appears to be an adjustment nut on the cable that leads to the two hooks, but it appears (to a guy with limited mechanical experience) to be totally inaccessible.

When I lower the motor again, while still in forward, the 2 hooks reengage the pin rod.

Slipping out the pin rod on land isn't too big a deal, but in the long term this is going to be a pain.

Any suggestions?

carholme

Rear Admiral
Re: 1979 Mercury 50 WON'T TILT, even in forward

Have you dropped the lower unit to see the condition of the reverse lock cam? There appears to be a problem with the cam installation of the rod adjustment that connects to the bar that the two hooks are attached to. What is the s/n of the engine?

Is this boat new to you and if not did this just happen all of a sudden or after any maintenance was carried out?

Gerry

stevland

Recruit

Hi Gerry, thank you very much for your quick response (although I've been very slow on this end).

This issue did coincide with a tune-up, although all I did was change the spark plugs and the leg oil.

The issue first manifested in not being able to tilt the motor as it was locked (even while in forward gear).

But now I think the problem has become clearer as (I believe) it has also manifested in having to push the throttle fully forward to get going. In fact, it has worsened to the point that, even when fully forward, I cannot get to full speed.