Newbie needs help!! 1986 ProCraft with Mercury Black Max 150 XR2 wont go into gear..

lightgroove

Recruit
Greetings friends,

I finally accomplished a dream of mine and purchased a used bass boat. Its a 1986 Procraft fish and ski. It has a 150 hp Mercury Black Max XR2 .I am a newbie when it comes to boat ownership and understanding the intricacies. Please be patient with me..

We inspected the boat during the purchase process however only "dry" ran it (water muffs) before the purchase. All seemed ok from what I researched and could check.

When then lake tested it. The boat has run extremely well with the exception of a hard start every now and then. Apparently normal for this motor. After a few light outings (only pushed the boat to 1/2 throttle) I started to notice a slight "gear oil" type smell and saw a small amount leaking out of the side of a vent hole. I checked the vent plug on the other side to check fluid levels and a small amount dripped down but i noticed it was pretty foul smelling...it didnt pour out ...I did not pay a lot of attention to the color..it was a little milky...figured it was age and I planned to change it.