1975 Mercury 1500

Jhenry72

Cadet
Hello, I am fairly new to the boating world and recently purchased a "New to Me" boat with a 1975 Mercury 1500 "Tower of Power"! The seller stated that the engine needed a new Internal wiring harness, which I purchased and installed. Long story short, I finally got the engine to fire and seems to run good on the muffs. Problem I have is when I take it out on the water, I put it in gear, start to give it more throttle, and It pukes out and dies... Most of the time it starts right back up but I haven't been able to get it to go! It has no problem revving up in neutral, but as soon as I put it in gear and give it gas it dies. I have read posts that suggest doing a "Link and Sync" and also setting the Idle Mixture screws. I should note that it doesn't usually die right away when I put it in gear. Because I have been able to at least get past the No Wake buoy. Any advice is Greatly Appreciated! John.

IMG_0305.jpgIMG_0302.jpg

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1975 Mercury 1500

sounds like diry carbs or mis-adjusted idle mixture. Richen the idle mixture one carb at a time, and see if she will accelerate better.

if you have a timing light, put it on the top spark plug and remove the othe plugs and ground them. While cranking motor adjust throttle until you see 4-6* BTDC. At that moment carb should just be ready to open. Max timing is 21* BTDC. If it is off, get an OEM service manual and do the link and synch.

Jhenry72

Cadet

Thank you Chris1956! I will try that this weekend. I bought a Seloc Manual that has been Really helpful also! Thanks Again!

hotrod53

Chief Petty Officer