1977 115hp mercury shifting problem please help

snayke62

Cadet
Hello. i have a 1989 bayliner capri i got and it has a 1977 115 hp six cylinder two stroke merc on it. the lower unit was off and controls boken and cables disconnected. i put it back together and got the engine running. but the shifting was wrong. ive had the lower unit off and on half dozen times and cannot get the shift shaft in the right spot to synch up with the cable for the controls. with the unit on the floor im having trouble finding a nuetral position. i can get it into foward and revers it seems like. but there is no detent position that allows a free spinning prop. im wondering if something is wrong with the lower unit. ive never worked on a damn boat before. i am an experienced diesel mechanic so i would assume i could make this repair happen. but im having trouble. ive had it together once with a foward and kind of a nuetral with some clicking noise when spiining prop but no reverse, and ive had it together once with a reverse and kinda nuetral with some clicking but no foward. how the hell do i make this work? or is something wrong? please help. i dont have a manual.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Re: 1977 115hp mercury shifting problem please help

Try spinning the shiftshaft 180 degs you might have it on the backside of the cam at present
Turn the driveshaft a bit at the time

snayke62

Cadet

i read somewhere to turn the shiftshaft counter clock wise until it clicks into nutral. then set controls to nuetral. so i been doing that. so i should try rotating clockwise to the nuetral detent your saying? and should i be able to free spin the prop with the unit off? the only way i can get a free spin is to manually hold the shaft inbetween a gear. and theres no way i can stab it and hold it there at the same time.

Bosunsmate

Admiral

yep rotate the other way since it isnt workin that way.
Yes you can free spin with the unit off