1972 or 76? mercury 1150 rebuild

Vision91

Petty Officer 3rd Class
So i decided to do a rebuild on the ole girl since i have nothing else to do.. the serial number is 4394897 which i was told is a 1972 from one guy then looking around at other webistes it comes up as a 76 so im not sure which one it is exactly. my plan is to take the block off and replace all the seals, gaskets and anything else that might need to be redone.. since this is my first time doin something like this on my own im looking for any input that might help. as of right now im in the tear down process and i have the shift linkage off the throttle cable off and all the wiring plus the 8 bolts. In the process i decided to look inside where the water gets circulated to see what it looks like and while taking off the cover i snapped two bolts off:mad-new: not to happy about that. i will upload some pics here shortly when the weather gets a little better its a little cold and we are in a lake effect storm. also while taking off the cap to the rotor i noticed the wire that goes to ignition coil was burned and came off so i ordered new plug wire kit..im looking at sand blasting the powerhead to a clean surface but not sure which sand to use. stay tuned ill post pics and status of the rebuild

brnschoneck

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1972 or 76? mercury 1150 rebuild

yikes on the bolts easy easy does it lol !!! please post pics soon !!! id like to see it love them old tower powers !! take lots of pics it will help in reassemble label everything and where it goes u never know how long it will be apart or what ull run into?? since we diyers dont do it all the time we need remindrs u will forget trust me !!! ..take notes if u have to ,and take ur time i always have trouble with this one but try !!!!dnt work on it when ur tired ....good lluckkkk

Vision91

Petty Officer 3rd Class