1985 90 HP Mercury fuel problems?

drdetroit3

Cadet
I have a 1985 90 HP Mercury, went to the lake the other day, 32 degrees!!! I went to start the boat , chocked it it started, but would die if I gave it any gas? I started it again and when it was going to stall push in hechoke and it revs alittle but every time I gave it any gas it died??

I am thinking change the fuel filter (does anyone know where it is located)?
Change the spak plugs.

any other suggestions??

I am a carpenter, not good wit hmotors, trying to sell th bat o trying to avoid taking it in the shop. Ran great a few nths before.

Thanks, Mike

Lone Duck

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1985 90 HP Mercury fuel problems?

I have a 1985 90 HP Mercury, went to the lake the other day, 32 degrees!!! I went to start the boat , chocked it it started, but would die if I gave it any gas? I started it again and when it was going to stall push in hechoke and it revs alittle but every time I gave it any gas it died??

I am thinking change the fuel filter (does anyone know where it is located)?
Change the spak plugs.

any other suggestions??

I am a carpenter, not good wit hmotors, trying to sell th bat o trying to avoid taking it in the shop. Ran great a few nths before.

Thanks, Mike
(1) make sure you have good fuel(no water ) (2) Vent tube is clear (3) All lines and connections are air tight (4) bulb is in good shape and pumps up hard (5) check fuel pump diaphragms are in good shape and screen is clean. Fuel filter could be in the line from tank to fuel pump or between fuel pump and carbs. If all is in good order,then it is time to remove carbs and clean, maybe new carb kits with floats. Tell us what you find before doing carbs.

drdetroit3

Cadet

Sorry don't mean to sound dumb! but how do I check the fuel pump diaphragms are in good shape and screen is clean.

I assume fuel is good I had a little left in the tank and added 7 new gallons, how do I check for water?

Thanks, Mike

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander