tell tale blockage 3.3 mercury 2002

nitram79

Seaman Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I have no water coming out of the tell tale on my 3.3 mercury 2002. the guy I bought it off said it never poored out just dripped out, but i'm not even getting that. I took the lower unit off and replaced the impeller. (i hope i did it properly) I know i didnt connect the lower unit properly coz now its stuck in gear, but thats in another thread.I took the tell tale hose off thats clear and i stuck some wire in the knob where the hose connects into the head and gave it a wriggle. but its getting late and cant test it now. if that didnt work whats the next step, taking the head off??? is it hard?im not an idiot (well sometimes) but im not a mechanic either. oh yeah, if i blow into the tell tale hose, should i be able to blow air aor should it feel blocked??

thanks

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander
Re: tell tale blockage 3.3 mercury 2002

If the old impeller had any of the fingers missing there is a chance that part of them could be blocking the tell tail fitting on the inside of the motor where the block fittings is. You should be able to blow air back thru the hose/fitting and see if the water starts to flow. If it dose then it would be adviseable to get any and all the impeller parts and any blockages removed from the motor. Any forgin particals in the warer jacket of the motor could cause a overheat and damage to the motor. Test or replacement of the thermostat and poppit valve should also be done. A factory manual for the motor will be of need to work and understand the workings of the motor. It is a cheap investment when working on motors, and will save $$$ in the long run.JMO
Oldman570

nitram79

Seaman Apprentice

Hi,