1980 25 hp mercury outboard won't start

xman33

Cadet
I have a short shaft 1980 25 hp merc outboard that won't start but will only starts with starting fluid. When running with starting fluid, It will run if I give it gas and dies out if I put it on neutral. I rebuild my carb,clean as best i could even boiling it and replacing it with new gasket and a fuel pump kit. I also set and check my spark plugs and float heights placing them at mercury specs. My sparks are orange and bright light blue. Gas is getting in the carb I think. The pump gets hard when I pump it and I can see gas traveling to my fuel filter. I also dump out the old gas and replace it with new gas but to no avail, it just won't turn over. It sounds like its almost gonna fire up but there's something that's preventing it. I think i could flood my engine if I want it to. Am I getting too weak of a spark ? Do I need a stator or new coils? I'm new to outboard and this is only my second motor I've own so I need help guys. Any ideas would be much appreciated. I'm at wits end. Thanks for looking and have a nice day:)

CharlieB

Vice Admiral
Re: 1980 25 hp mercury outboard won't start

Starting fluid is a big No No with a two stroke as it does not have any oil to lubricate the crank and pistons.

A better solution is a bit of pre-mixed fuel in a squirt bottle.

Now, the fact that the motor does start and run with the throttle open tells us that the ignition system IS working, and your problem is still in the carb.

The idle circuits of the carb are very small, boiling it out will not clean those small passages. Often even soaking in carb cleaner will not get all the crud out.

A good spray solvent followed by compressed air is far more effective at clearing small passages.