1976 Mercury 150hp runs, but wont shut off..? key will not shut off motor

Laser Boat

Cadet
Hi, im new to boating and just got a older 80's model 18ft Laser Bass boat, with Mercury 150 v6 Blackmax. Has a Quicksilver throttle control box w/trim. Just got the boat, none of the gauges or lights etc work, looks like i need to repace all the fuse holders & fuses, reconnect few wires. Will do, but boat hasnt been started in couple years, i just got it, messed with motor for couple weeks cleaning on carbs, new spark plugs, it was turning over for few days, then begun to fire, try to run 5-10 seconds, then finally last nite it fired up & sounds awesome, revs up, iddles fairly smooth on low. felt good about it, then went to shut it off, and nothing happened, even pulled the key out. flipping the toggle kill switch. Kept running, i had to pinch off the gas line for a minute to let it run out & die. Would this just be needing like a new key switch, also the control cables look bad shape, alot of plastic cover peeled off & rusted cables, should i just replace the whole control box/cables.. any input appreciated.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1976 Mercury 150hp runs, but wont shut off..? key will not shut off motor

A 1976 motor probably has the old wiring colors. You do have the ADI ignition with 6 coils right? Your killer wire would therefore be orange or salmon. It needs to be grounded to kill the ignition. The only way to see what new parts you need is by testing the function of the old stuff.

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander

If the gauges, kill switch, and key will not work to stop the motor then you need to check the ground wire from the motor to the switch, and see if it is broken or bad connection somewhere in the harness or the plug at the motor.
Oldman570

Laser Boat

Cadet