1973 Mercury 850, controller issue

T-Boat1

Recruit
I am a newbie when it comes to boats, lawn mowers i can handle,lol. Heres my issue. After shifting my controller into reverse I could not get it back into neutral. After disconnecting my controller and shifting it back into neutral by hand, I tried again to shift from reverse back into neutral..the same thing happened, I cannot get the controller back to neutral. I now have the controller in neutral and back together, i am sure it is assembled correctly as I do have an old merc service manual. Both the shifter and throttle cables are aligned as the manual calls for, however, could this simply be a cable adjustment issue? if so how do i correctly tighten my shifter/throttle cables as i have quite a bit of play in the controller, almost all the way forward before throttle moves...Thanks

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1973 Mercury 850, controller issue

If I understand your issue, it sounds like there is a problem in the control. I assume it is a MerControl? MerControls do have some play. Consider the throttle handle as a clock hand. At 12:00 the motor is in neutral. At 9:30 the motor is in forward at idle. At 8:00 the motor is at full throttle in forward. Is that what you are seeing?

Getting stuck in reverse is not normal, BTW. MerControls do not have any adjustment.

T-Boat1

Recruit

If I understand your issue, it sounds like there is a problem in the control. I assume it is a MerControl? MerControls do have some play. Consider the throttle handle as a clock hand. At 12:00 the motor is in neutral. At 9:30 the motor is in forward at idle. At 8:00 the motor is at full throttle in forward. Is that what you are seeing?

Getting stuck in reverse is not normal, BTW. MerControls do not have any adjustment.