1997 135hp Mercury v6 offshore

Hi Newbie here.

I'm having a few problems with my outboard on start up . Last 2 weekends in a row when starting up cold engine its Very smokey fills the boat up with smoke smells like pure oil burning..If i lift the choke lever up a little and let idle for 2 to 3 mins smoke goes away and can use engine fine all day.

I have replaced the check valve where the oil and fuel line meet. Is there any other one I should replace also ?????

I have noticed also there are no Beeps when i turn the key onto the start position. How do I check this and what do I look for.

Any help much appreciated

Greg

Australia

aussieflash

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1997 135hp Mercury v6 offshore

Gday,
Fairly normal to blow a little extra smoke at cold start,provided its not white smoke(water intrusion).Check all plug ends for even brownish deposits.
Are you running pre mix or oil injected?If injected check its not too rich at idle.
When you say choke lever do you mean fast idle lever on throttle control.
My v6 blows a fair bit of blue smoke when cold but that only re assures me that oil injection is working fine.

bobkyle2

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Same here... Blue smoke...Choked and cold.... I'd be more worried if it wasn't smoking.

Jlawsen

Master Chief Petty Officer

Excessive smoke at startup is not normal for a new engine but yours is older and there are several things that could be leading up to it.

1. If the choke solenoid is not closing properly it will dump fuel into the intake when you squeeze the primer bulb.
2. The bleeders on the intake could be plugged and you're building excessive oil up in the crankcase.
3. Float needles in the carbs could be leaking and dumping excess fuel after squeezing the primer bulb.