problem with carbs maybe?

bredd444

Recruit
hey folks,
I'm a college student and just got my first boat last year. It's a 1989 procraft fish and ski with a 200 hp mercury. The boat ran great last year with only a few minor problems. Got it out earlier this week to get ready for fishing season again. It still cranks right up great when I choke it. If i lift the choke and turn the key it will fire right up every time. THE PROBLEM is as soon as I let the choke down it dies. I could let it warm up on choke for 20 minutes and it will still die as soon as I let the choke down. I'm new to boats and did leave gas in the tank all winter. I did however have ethanol treatment in it. I called a guy today who says he is just sure its the carbs and it will cost be about $500. DO yall agree and think it is the carbs? Could it be anything else. IM a VERY broke college student if it's $500 i might just be using the trolling motor this year. Any ideas of what it is would help me a ton. thanks!

Re: problem with carbs maybe?

Carb rebuild kit - $8
Needle and seat - $15
Repair manual - $40
16oz can of seafoam - $10
Total cost and time required $73, 8 hours

Buy yourself a manual for your engine. Read through the tune up, troubleshooting, and carb rebuild sections. Rebuild the carb and follow the step by step instructions per the manual. After the carb is rebuilt, give it a tune up as instructed in the manual. After the tune up, de-carbon the engine by adding the can of seafoam to 2-3 gallons of gas/oil. Run the engine with seafoam for 10 minutes, let it sit for 15 minutes, and repeat 2-3 times. Then switch the engine over to a normal fuel mix and run it for another 10 minutes. Lots of white smoke and black carbon will be coming out of the exhaust during this process, but this is what progress looks like.