1971 mercury 80 hp 800 bogging when put into gear... cleaning carb trubble

macmeeezzz

Cadet
okay so my 71 80 hp mercury outboard was running great!!!! very great until one day i took her to the lake and it started bogging when put into gear all of a sudden.. i could not figure out the problem .. everytime i took it out it would bogg alot when i put it into gear.. i replaced the fuel filter on fuel line.. and its new gas always.. it also was a little hard to start when cold.. so i took off the two carbs and cleaned them with cleaning fluid and dipped it in the cleaning fluid.. while cleaning and remounting i accidently broke the spring on the float.. also the fuel bowl cover's levers i could not figure out.. i have the manual just kinda confused.i would like to know what i can do to get my boat running right... can i use this float without the spring.?? what do u think i should do as i am new to working on boat motors

MacDaddy21

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1971 mercury 80 hp 800 bogging when put into gear... cleaning carb trubble

When you took the carbs apart to clean them you should have ordered a rebuild kit for each carb. You should also order new floats, and a new needle and seat for each carb. The parts are cheap and worth the money. Don't worry about the float spring, a new float is cheap and will have a brand new spring in the float all ready to go.