1978 Mercury 402 water pee hole

aluminum

Cadet
Hi,
I am new to boat motors and recently picked up an older boat with a (from what I can tell) 1978 mercury 402 40HP outboard motor. It has a blue striped motor case.

Anyway, with a garden hose hooked I am not seeing any water coming from the pee hole. Does a thermostat have to open up before water would come out or should it be spitting out water right away? It does seem to be spitting out water from the prop area though.

I was told that the motor was rebuilt last year so I am guessing that it had the pump spinner replaced, but I am not 100% for sure. I did not want to start taking anything apart without knowing a bit more information.

Thanks,

MacDaddy21

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1978 Mercury 402 water pee hole

The "pump spinner" you are referring to is called an Impeller. When you say you hook a hose up to it and water does not come out right away, do you mean you are starting the motor and no water is coming out of the tell-tale (pee hole) once it is running?

aluminum

Cadet

Correct, no water is coming out of the indicator pee hole with the motor running. I have not let it run long in fear of damage. I did not know if water should come out right away or if a thermostat would need to open up to allow water to come through.

I did take a smaller hose, fill it with water, place it on the hose that the pee hose is connected to and let gravity pull it down. I can see water coming out of the water pickup slots on the bottom of the motor where the prop connects. So I know that the pipe running from there must be connected.

MacDaddy21

Petty Officer 1st Class