1968 mercury 500 50 hp no water from pee hole!! my first boat

zildjian29

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Just bought a boat with a 1968 merc 500. I took off the lower unit and the impeller looks good to me but i am new to this. the pee hole doesent seem to be clogged. what else should i look at. I just want the darn thing to spit water out. The motor is very strong and runs great otherwise. Please help anyone!!!!!!

mmf

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1968 mercury 500 50 hp no water from pee hole!! my first boat

First off I would put in a new impeller anyway, they get "set" when sitting for long periods, make sure the impeller is located with the key on the driveshaft. If the lower unit is off, do this, connect a cut off garden hose to the copper tube in the exaust housing that goes up to the powerhead making sure to tighten it down with a small hose clamp, now cut on the water and let it run awhile. You should see a real good pee stream but let this run for awhile to flush any deposits out of the water passages in the powerhead. You can also reverse flush it too by pulling loose the pee hole hose and temporarily connecting the garden hose here too and flush it out good. If everything is good here then you might have pieces of an old rotten impeller blocking the intake to the impeller, you'll have to remove the impeller and wear plate to inspect this area, hold lower unit upside down and shake to see if anything comes out, sometimes little pieces make their way into the copper tube as well, check this out too...let us know your findings..........

zildjian29

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I tried hooking a hose to the copper tube and the water just comes straight back down. I also hooked hose up to the pee hole hose and it will not pass through, it builds up so much pressure that it blows the garden hose off. I am now starting to freak out!

charlie741

Cadet