1988 Mercury 60 hp loss of power / acceleration

bradbettes

Cadet
I have had this engine for about 4 months and I just can't get it to running right. Since I am fairly new to boat engines, let me kinda give you my history with this engine.

I took the boat out about a week after I bought it and like a moron, ran it out of gas. Before it ran out of gas, it ran fine, pushed the boat at about 27 mph, according to GPS. A week or two later, I filled the tank and took it to Toledo Bend. Ran fine for a minute or two, then started bogging down upon acceleration. It got to the point that it would die whenever I even put it in gear and tried to accelerate, regardless of the rate of acceleration.

At this point, I realized I had an issue and began looking at the fuel system as the culprit. I searched this and many other sites for information and have done quite a bit to try and get it running to no avail.

Things I have done so far:
Replaced fuel line
Rebuilt fuel pump
Rebuilt carb after soaking in Chem-Dip
Installed new fuel filter in engine along with inline filter in fuel line
Adjusted needles on front of carb today to try and get it running better (can't remember what they're called)

Current status of engine:
Engine will start fairly easily
Idles fine
When engine is accelerated slowly, with pick up smoothly through about 3/4 throttle, then it sputters
When throttle is hammered, engine sputters immediately and dies 99% of time unless you let off throttle

I did the carb adjustments with boat backed into water but still on trailer. I also noticed that the gasket on the bolt at the bottom of carb was leaking when I was initially adjusting, but I had another one that I was able to replace it with. However, I had to remove and replace the bolt with needle nose pliers so I wasn't able to get the bolt back in as tight as it probably should be.

I am really at a loss right now as to what to do, so any help would be appreciated. If I am leaving out any information, just ask.