1970 Mercury 50hp wont start in Nuetral. Throttle control? Will start with throttle

whiteguitars

Recruit
Won't start in Nuetral, only starts with throttle open. Mercury 50hp 1970 outboard

Hi, I've just purchased a 1970 M.F.G Gypsy 14' TriHull. Nice Bright Orange boat. Problem is that the 50hp Mercury will only start with the Throttle open. Won't start in Nuetral. Another odd thing is that the outboard, when shut off, will only lift up to stow position when the throttle is open, not in nuetral. This seems backwords to me. Should have seen me trying to hold onto the dock while starting this baby up at full throttle. It doesn't work.

I'm new to boating in general, but good with most mechanical issues, so hoping to fix this myself. Any guidance?

Is this a mis-wired switch in the throttle box? a mis-attached cable?

Thanks,
Andrew

M

Maxz695

Re: 1970 Mercury 50hp wont start in Nuetral. Throttle control? Will start with thro

Have you put this in neutral after starting the engine and it still ran ok? was the neutral on the right location on the throttle?. before we blame the throttle and or neutral switch lets make sure the cable adjustment is correct

Alumarine

Captain
Re: 1970 Mercury 50hp wont start in Nuetral. Throttle control? Will start with thro

When you say "Will only start with the throttle open" do you mean it will only start when the throttle is open and also in gear?

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

Normal behavior from the Merc motor lock down is locked in reverse and neutral, released in forward. Sounds like yous is working correctly.

Do you have a cold start lever on the MerControl? Most do. Lift it all the way, motor in neutral for coldstarting. Are you holding the choke button while cold cranking? You should be.

whiteguitars

Recruit

Wow, thanks for all the help. I hope I can narrow this down.

I guess its good that the lock down is functioning correctly, so lets rule that out as a symptom.