Getting a Mercury 9.8 TWIN running (1967)

Rodneybr

Cadet
I am completely new to boating, and I recently bought this motor, and in hindsight it was a bad purchase. I am now trying to make the best of that decision by treating this as an opportunity to learn about outboard motor maintenance. If this learning exercise doesn't go well, I will take the motor to a local shop but I am trying to minimize my losses at this point in time. Please bare with me, I have read through many of the threads on this site and other sites so I would classify myself as a wise fool at this point in time, I know a lot about nothing :)

Issue 1 - Steering mechanism not working

I am not able to move the tiller left\right, it is stuck in one position (straight ahead). I looked around for a lever but I was not able find one, and I am worried about applying too much pressure and breaking something. Is there a lever that I am just missing?

Issue 2 - Motor is not starting

I am going to buy some new spark plugs tomorrow [NGK (5110) B7HS Standard Spark], are these the right ones?

I suspect that I will spend quite a bit of time on this issue but the plugs is the obvious first step with a carb cleaning being the next (I will need some guidance on that one)

Well, thanks in advance for your help

Attachments

• Stop button.jpg
    Stop button.jpg
    113.2 KB · Views: 0
  • metal fragment.jpg
    metal fragment.jpg
    84.3 KB · Views: 0
  • Engine running.jpg
    Engine running.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 0
  • Two engines.jpg
    Two engines.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 0
  • Water pump face plate.jpg
    Water pump face plate.jpg
    33.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

merc850

Commander
Re: Getting a Mercury 9.8 TWIN running (1967)

Issue 1: look for a bolt under the powerhead at the front of the engine, if there is one turn it to the right to loosen the steering.There's probably a grease fitting on the swivel bracket that might need greasing.