Pulling flywheel hub on 1980 Mercury 50 hp

Markeb63

Cadet
I have a new trigger that will be arriving tomorrow so I figured I would take the old one off today. I talked with a friend of my neighbor's who does some outboard repair work and he said I could use a puller to remove the hub underneath the flywheel. Other posts on here confirmed this. While I am not incompetent when it comes to mechanic work I have never done anything like this before nor have I seen it done. I have attached a photo to see if I am on the right track. The hub just seems like it does not want to move and I would just assume not break anything. I have sprayed it with WD40 and a teflon spray to loosen it up. Am I missing something?

Thanks.
Hub Pulling.jpg

backyard mechanic

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Pulling flywheel hub on 1980 Mercury 50 hp

The puller you have rigged should work. The more bolts the better on your inside ring. Once tight it ought to pop right off. If not give the center bolt of the puller a little smack with a hammer. Never had one that didn't come after that.

The Merc tool/puller actually screws into the top of the flywheel and the center screw is tightened against the crank shaft. No need to pull all the screws out of the flex plate and outer flywheel.

Hopefully you heavily and cautiously marked the outside and inside and flex plate parts of your flywheel carefully. Once that flex plate goes back on it is VERY important that the outer and inner iron lines up. It's all about the engine timing. If you didn't mark it well the combinations of trying to make it work are far too many to fool with. and you would most likely be stuck finding a new/used flywheel assy.

When you put it back together, be sure to dry the crank to flywheel surface. (Use no oil or grease on reassembly.) Good luck!

Markeb63

Cadet