Mercury 50hp - Alternator and Bendix gear

Hooksetter

Cadet
First, let me say I have always found these forums helpful. Now I am posting a question of my own.

I am no mechanic, but trying to learn the most I can. I have searched around on the site, but can't find what I am looking for.

OK - 50hp Merc. A couple outings ago I started having a problem when starting the motor. The engine would sound extremely weak like it was barely turning over. I went to battery and tightened everything and then it fired right up. The rest of the day it would fire up just fine, but randomly would do the same thing and sound like it was dead. I started thinking I had a bad battery and since it was old I went ahead and replaced it. Yesterday I was out and the engine again sounded extremely weak when trying to start and then would suddenly fire up.

At home I put engine in a water tank and took cover off. I noticed after trying to crank that the bendix gear remained stuck in the up position. We had to tap on it with a small hammer to get it to release. Sprayed WD-40 on the gear and that seemed to really help out. Of course I have not been able to replicate the weak starting sound at home. After lubricating the Bendix seems to not be sticking anymore.

Is it possible that on recent outings the bendix has been stuck in the up position when I have been motoring? I have never heard any noise to indicate this. This doesn't seem like it would be good for the starter at all.

My other problem is the alternator, I noticed yesterday that after fishing the cranking battery was showing a low voltage. The alternator doesn't seem to be charging it during the day. I put a volt meter on battery while engine was running and it was only showing 12.6 volts. I remember in the past that when idling my Lowrance unit indicated voltages anywhere between 13.5-14.2

So now at this point:
1. what kind of lube should I put on bendix gear?