Potential Mercury 135 hp overheat. Help!

Hi there.

I'm new to the whole boating thing and recently purchased a 1996 fletcher 18ft boat with a 1996 Mercury 135hp 2.0 litre V6 outboard.

I decided, that as the engine hadn't been run for a while, I'd start it with the flushing muffs. I connected it all up and started and ran the engine at idle (and revved up slightly twice) for no longer than 2 minutes, when I realised there was no tell tail.

Water was coming from around the prop etc, as expected, but as I said, no tell tail.

I immediately shut down the engine after a couple of minutes, when I realised no tell tail.

My main worry now is, have I damaged the engine? There was no overheat alarm, but then again I'm not sure if it has one.

I'm booked in for a powerboat course to learn stuff like this next month, but in the meantime, would you recommend me getting the engine checked or not for over heating damage?

Thanks again for your time. It's very much appreciated!!

sullmate

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Potential Mercury 135 hp overheat. Help!

I have the same engine 1997 vintage. First of all, your motor has an overheat alarm. It would be a steady beeping noise.
Since the engine has not been started in some time, you may want to replace the water pump impeller before restarting..
The pee hole might be blocked with crud. You may try to clean out the pee with a pipe cleaner.
Was steam coming out of the pee hole?
I would not restart until you have the cooling problem corrected
Sullmate

CharlieB

Vice Admiral

Many of the V-6's telltell comes from the T-stat housing and will not show flow until the stats open. We don't like it, but that is Merc's design.

Follow your P tube back to the stat housings and it becomes clear. Some have removed the stat and drilled an 1/8 inch hole thru one side of each stat to provide a small stream to indicate flow, the small increase in cooling flow will only slow warm up time a minute but it can relieve a lot of worries.