Whats Wrong with my 1962 Mercury 6 hp

qz5kbk

Cadet
First of all I want to appologize because I am a novice when it comes to outboard motors and may ramble a bit as I describe what symptoms of my problems are.
I acquired what I beleive is a 1962 (or a 1963) 6 hp Twin Mercury outboard motor several years ago. I use it only a few hours every summer at my parents cottage, and other then store it for the remained of the year by fogging the cylinders and changing the gear oil.
This year when I went to use it, the motor worked fine for the first 15 minutes of use and then stalled. When the motor stalled it didn't cut out like an electrical problem but the RPM's ramped down almost like it wasn't getting fuel. I wasn't able to start the motor and had to row back to shore. I let the boat sit a few hours and them went out in the bay and tried to start the motor again, and had no problem getting it to run , and I ran it around the cove for a few minutes without any problem. At first I had thought the problem may have been a stuck needle in the carb, and now was free.
The next day, I ran the motor and had the same problem as the first time. The motor ran strong for around 5 minutes, and then the motor ramped down like it was running out of fuel.
After looking at the motor this is what I noticed.
1) The outflow of water from the impeller wasn't very strong. I checked the condition of the impeller and it looked ok. The discharge opening is rather big on this model and I am not sure on what is a normal output from the impellor.
2) I looked at the filter before the carb, and it did have some sediment caught in the screen, but not enough to cause starvation of fuel.
3) The spark plugs looks black and had quite abit of carbon on them.

Thats about all I noticed.
Could the outboard be over-heating due to lack of cooling, which is causing a vapor lock of fuel? What is a normal output of flow ?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Jon

jbjennings

Captain