1984 Mercury Outboard Idling Problems

Mdub

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1984 75 HP 4cly. Mercury outboard. The engine had sat for a few years before i got it. Since then I have rebuilt the carbs, drained and cleaned the fuel tank, replaced all of the gas lines outside of the engine, new primer bubble, fuel filter, and new plugs. When I went to start the engine, the battery was completely dead so I had to jump it off my truck. The engine would only start when I engaged the throttle about 3/4 of the way. But after running it to warm up for about 5 to 10 min., when I pull back the throttle to let it idle, it just stalls out. It seams like it is not getting gas at idle. This is my first time dealing with a outboard and I am stuck.
Any ideas?

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: 1984 Mercury Outboard Idling Problems

The fuel pump should have been rebuilt too after sitting so long.

Mdub

Seaman Apprentice

I rebuilt the fuel pump as well and it is doing the same thing. Is there a way to adjust the idle besides the idle screws in the carbs. I saw a idle stop bolt on the throttle assembly. Will adjusting that help?

Mdub

Seaman Apprentice

Any one have any ideas??????

jbrown270

Cadet

Check your RPMs as you lower the throttle to see if they are too low. Was the needle valve/float level set correctly when you rebuilt the carbs?

Mdub

Seaman Apprentice

It die out just below 600 rpm. The needles are set correctly I did not adjust the float though.

jbrown270

Cadet