1985 Mercury 150 Tell Tale Questions

DixieBoatN

Seaman Apprentice
I am brand new to these forums but have been lurking a little. I just purchased a boat with a 1985 Mercury V150 XR2 motor. I have a Clymers manual (I know it is junk) and plan to purchase a Factory Service Manual soon. I am new to outboards, but I have extensive mechanic experience in the automotive arena.

My question is am I supposed to always see water coming out of the tell tale? I took the boat out yesterday and I do not recall if it was coming out right away, but shortly after getting it off of the trailer and before I gave it much throttle I did see water coming out. I ran a short distance, turned around and came back and when I got back to the dock it was not coming out anymore, so I shut the engine off. It was a rather cool day and the lake water is still cool. The previous owner stated that the water pump impeller was replaced within the last 6 months. I put it on the cuffs today and when I fire it up, no water comes out, but I did not let it run for longer than 60 seconds.

I used some nylon line from my string trimmer and pushed it into the tell tale spout until it hit a bend it could not get past and did not notice any obstruction. I shot water into the tell tale and noticed it flowing out of what looks like weep holes on the bottom side of the cavitation plate directly above the prop. I also checked the original Operation and Maintenance manual (yep, that was with the boat!) and it only says that if you see no water coming out of the tell tale, shut the motor off immediately. I guess this would imply that it is not controlled by a thermostat?

I never heard an alarm, but I also have not tested the alarm to make sure it works yet. I have searched the forums and have not found anything that answers my question, so I appreciate any assistance. I will also search for the alarm circuit test procedure and test the alarm module.

Thanks!

yamamarinetech40

Petty Officer 1st Class