1980 90HP Mariner IL 6 replacement options

Stinkin_V8

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new here, been lurking for a while and I've already learned a lot. I'm also pretty new to boats, been building cars before this.

I've got a 16' Edson tri-hull with a siezed 90HP Mariner. S/N indicates both the boat and engine are from 1980. The leg seems to be in good shape and I've pulled the power head off. I removed the water jacket cover around the spark plugs and found cracks into two of the cylinders. So the block is toast, but the electronics should (as far as I know) still be good.

I'm not sure what's the best solution for a die-hard DIYer on a budget.

1) I could replace the power head, but do I need to find the exact IL 6 that was on there or is there a range of power heads that will fit that leg?

2) I could buy a whole new motor, which I couldn't test-drive until spring. :% Is there a range of Merc/Mariner motors that I should be looking at to keep the controls and power trim currently in the boat?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1980 90HP Mariner IL 6 replacement options

You can ask Iboats for a rebuilt powerhead quote. You can also ask Clams Canino for the same, since he is a IL6 rebuilder. A range of powerheads will fit that motor. The only limiting factor is the type of ignition your have. I expect you have the 6 coil ADI ignition, which appeared on different HP motors in different years. Personally, if you can get someone to sell you a rebuilt 115HP powerhead from the same year, that will be best.

Stinkin_V8

Cadet

Thanks for the reply, Chris. The quote on iboats.com for a rebuilt power head was pretty attractive, although the shipping is probably going to be the killer (I live in Canada). How do I find Clams Canino?