What to lube steering bar with

Merc90HPnewbie

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I notice light rust forming on the steering 'bar' (for lack of a better term) on the outboard. I just rubbed it off with my hand but what should this bar be lubricated with to keep it moving smoothly and resist corrosion? FYI I only take it in freshwater.<br />I have a tube of blue grease that is labeled "waterproof grease for trailer wheel bearings" Is that good?<br /><br />Thanks

greasemonkeyozi

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: What to lube steering bar with

I'm a mechanic in the military and us greasemonkeys use grease on everything. Battery terminals, other electrical connections, tow shackles, P.brake handles, ect. ect.<br /> Axle grease or any kind of thick petrolium will keep oxygen off of any metals once applyed. Especially whith batt terminals, it keeps the yellow nasty corrosion off. Rust as well. All corrosion and rust is is a chemical reaction with oxygen and moisture.<br /> Heres sone more advise for you to apply grease on your boat. That pully crank on the front of your boat trailer to pull the boat on from the water, apply grease all over those gears and on all those little moving parts to prevent rust.<br /> Put some inside your trailer lights all over where your bulbs connect at to prevent corrosion.<br /> Apply some inside your trailer light hookups and your truck trailer light hookups to prevent corosion.<br /> Smeer some all over your Batt terminals to prevent corrosion.<br /> Take your motor cover off and apply some on all electrical connections especially on your switch box, coils, starter, cylinoid, and anything else you can find.<br /> Apply some in any general area, any moving part, and any electrical hook up you can find.<br /> Metal+grease=love

Merc90HPnewbie

Petty Officer 2nd Class