New to Outboards - bought a 1985 50 hp Mariner but can't get it started!

I've learned alot in two weeks about the electronics of an outboard boat engine! Know what a coil is, a stator, a trigger, switch box, etc. Had spark on one cylinder and none on the others. Pull coils off and cleaned and all tested within spec. Pulled all the wires off of switch box and cleaned terminals. Put everything back and I got spark on all 4 but no ignition. Check ohm readings on stator and trigger. The Trigger readings are within spec but stator I'm getting on 50 ohms on red to red/white (spec 56 ohms) and 1900 ohms on blue to blue/white (Spec 5700 to 7000). Is the stator causing my problem. The engine ran when I purchased the boat for a few minutes. I can't get it to fire up! Could it be fuel starvation? Plugs are not wet! Help!

tavacska

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am a newbie too.

For my understanding, you have to check.

1. Body,(compression)
2. Fuel,(carb, fuel line, gas, and etc)
3. Ignition ( switch, trigger, wiring, coil and etc).
4. Timing and idle set

All has to be done one by one. My mistake is to think it is ok but it is not. I will do a serious test for each part and confirm myself that it is 100% right. Otherwise, it will be a forever checking loop.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Answer this question.----Does spark jump a gap of 3/8" or more , yes or no ?