Lower Unit

Hello everyone. I just bought a 1973 Sea Sprite with a blue lable 50 hp 500 Thunderbolt (3576141). It needs a new lower unit, anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks!

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
gotanotherboat

Your new thread after moving this out of an old thread about ignition problems, not even close to being on topic. Read the Help Tip on top of the page.

Senior Chief Petty Officer
I found mine from a boat wrecker on ebay.

Sorry about that GA_Boater.
When I bought the boat, I was told that it needed a new lower unit. He said that he took it to a boat mechanic and he was told to replace the motor, it would be easier.
I am not sure what happened or how or why but the prop section with gears unscrewed itself somehow??? I think I have the parts just don't know if this can be put back together or what I need to do. I was planning on taking by my mechanic but wanted some input first. Thank you all for taking the time to help me out. I am new to this and just trying to learn. My photo is too large to put up I guess so I will try it again.

GA_Boater

You to make one more post and on #4 you can add pics. Click on the Forum Help in my sig and look at the photo tutorial - Don't use Photobucket to host pictures.

Are you saying the lower unit came off? The part the prop is attached to.

GA_Boater

Next post a picture, so :smile: Look at that tutorial, either Option 1 or 2 should work.

My first question is, does this just screw back in? Is there a special trick that I need to know for alignment? Sorry for my ignorance as to how this stuff works but that is why I am here...to learn. Thanks!

GA_Boater

It looks like the cover nut broke or wasn't installed properly and the guts spun right out.

Do you have the parts? The prop shaft, carrier and all the prop w/hardware is gone.

What is the motor serial number?