1990 Mercury Black Max 175 HP (power trim) Problems

WHW819

Recruit
Alright, ladies and gentlemen. Brand new to the forums here and I need some (a lot) of help. I bought an old Aquasport with a 175 Black Max on it recently. I was told the motor sat for approximately 6 years before I bought it. I figured this was a good chance to learn how to do fiberglass work and finally figure out how outboards work. Needless to say, I am a complete and utter novice at all of this. I've decided to start with the motor, since the fiberglass is a moot point if the boat don't run. So, to start, it obviously doesn't turn over. But, while I was screwing with it, I found that the power trim will go up, but not down. I have seen similar posts about this and most of them just say to clean everything and make sure the connections are good and clean, which I've done. I disassembled what I'm pretty sure is where the trim motor draws its power from, cleaned all of it, replaced some connectors and re-assembled it (SEE ATTACHED PHOTO FOR WHAT I DISASSEMBLED AND CLEANED) Same results. I found the nylon screw that you can use to bypass and lower the motor manually. That's all well and good, but I just can't seem to figure out why the "down" trim button will only provide an audible *click*, but not run the trim motor. The "up" button doesn't hesitate or stall; works as it should. This is just the beginning of what will be a long learning curve in getting the motor running, but i'm determined. Any help will be very much appreciated.

WHW819

Recruit
Every time I try to add an attachment I get a message saying "You Are Not Authorized To Create Or Remove Attachments"

Dukedog

Captain
there should be large (#10/maybe 8 wire) green on tha large post on tha solenoid thats clickin'.. check it for 12v when down is pushed or disconnect it and apply 12v positive straight to it... if pump runs tha solenoid is bad...

sam am I

Commander