Loss of spark on two cylinders (mercury thunderbolt 50hp )

JasonMay

Cadet
Hello. I recently purchased a boat (from someone I know) with a 77 mercury thunderbolt 50hp (serial number 4360108). The motor had not been ran for a few years, but it did run great.

The motor starts and idles, but will kill if I don't have the high speed idler lever up. It will run in reverse and rev up. It will run in forward, but it does not rev up at all. I initially thought it was a fuel problem or carb related and looked up basic troubleshooting. Being very new to boating and mechanics, it took me a couple days to complete. It wasn't until further research I checked for spark.

I have spark on the bottom two cylinders, but not the top two. I tried disconnecting the mercury tilt switch, but no change.

Again, I'm new to mechanics and would like a "for dummies" type of reply, if possible.

Thanks for any basic troubleshooting help you can offer.

Mercurylips

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Jason- I can give you tons of advice and the first is, get a good compression test to see if your motor is economically feasible to recondition. Then get a service Manual (preferably oem) I have the same motor and started by changing out the obvious things. That series of Mercury motors have terrible wiring ( insulation on the wires crumbles off) so a new wiring harness and new stator were in order. The carburetor problems and the stator were my thorns but yours sounds a little different. Perhaps a switch box is bad or two coils went out at the same time.(unlikely). I am not good with electrical tests but that is where you need help with your problem. I am currently waiting to lake test my lower unit. It was getting water in it and I think I found where that was coming from.

JasonMay

Cadet
Thank you. I'll try looking up those things. I'm sure I'll need some tools I don't have to get this done.
If compression is low, is it a lost cause? I think I read that you want them to be over 100.

Mercurylips