Water Pump Question on a 1972 Mercury Thunderbolt 800 80 hp - Now Found Leaking Lube

krizm200

Seaman
Hi everyone. I have been trying to figure out why my 1972 Mercury Thunderbolt 800 runs great for the first 1/2 hour, but then starts to bogg down, become hard to get into gear and not stall, and not get to WOT although the throttle is open full. I have noticed the flow of water coming from the pee hole is not very strong. Wondering if the water pump may be an issue. I did change fuel to a higher octane and it did help. Plugs are new. The engine was tuned up a few months ago at a marina. I'm about to drop the lower unit and check it out. I have never done this before, but the manual I have shows it as fairly simple. I woudl love to hear anyone's opinion on this. Also, I don't know what kit/impeller to order for a replacement. Anyone know? Thanks!

Mark Kriz

EchoNovember

Petty Officer 1st Class
It could be overheating. Take off the lower unit and inspect the water pump. My water pump was missing a top oil seal, and the plastic of the housing had melted a but. I have a new water pump kit on the way, as it's pretty easy to replace. The impeller on yours could be worn out, which can cause low water pressure in the cooling system which can, of course, cause it to overheat.

Check the waterpump, replace gaskets, O-rings, and the impeller while you're in there, and give the top and bottom halves of the housing a thorough inspection, looking for deformed plastic, cracks, signs of excess wear, etc.

Go look up the motor by serial number, and find what part to use. Of course, check to see if iBoats has the part first and take advantage of the forum discount.

Last edited by a moderator:

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Impeller should be changed at least every 5 years.---More often if running in near freezing water.----The stalling may mean that you have to open low speed mixture needles 1/4 turn.

EchoNovember

Petty Officer 1st Class