Merc 90 4-stroke oil change - oil capacity question

Steveatpa

Seaman Apprentice
Just did the first oil change on my new to me 2006 Merc 90 4-stroke. Very clean, well taken care of engine.
I'm not a novice to mechanics by any means either and always feel its best to check informational sources before attempting something for the first time. So I did just that and from what I found, it seems that most sources are VERY particular about getting the oil volume in the crosshatch area of the dipstick. Not the top, not the bottom, but within the area.

Now that said, I know most people are fearful of running ANY amount of oil over the crosshatch in their engines (cars, trucks, etc.) so I understand the heeding, but the level of concern I was hearing was seemingly high during my research.

Reading the manual, the engine calls for 4.8 quarts capacity. I checked the level prior to draining and it was just about to the top of the crosshatch. So I drained what was in there and came up with 4 quarts. Then I replaced as per the manual (4.8 qts) only to find the oil is now well above the crosshatch. Hmmm..... Whats the deal? I didnt overfill since I used the amount specified by the manual, but clearly it seems somethings not right.

So I'm curious as to how many others run into this problem? Since I'm running the specified volume, I'm apt to leave it as it is and run it. Could the dipstick be wrong? Do most people really pay attention to whether or not their oil level is "within" the crosshatch or do they fill and go? Thanks everyone.

Steveatpa

Seaman Apprentice
So no concern as to why the "specified" 4.8 quarts appears to be too much oil.....?

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
That's for a completely empty and dry crankcase, after the first fill there's always some left in the motor.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
I have the exact same engine. 4.8 qts fills it up perfectly.

Did you drain it per the service manual? You have to turn the engine and tilt it.

Steveatpa

Seaman Apprentice