Mercury 7.5HP Problem

Postletown

Cadet
Hey Everyone, This is my first post in a long time but I've read this website for a while and its really helpful. I'm having a problem with my 7.5 mercury, I think it's from the 70's? Anyway, sometimes the motor will run great. It will idle, go into gear and back to idle just fine for a long time. Other times, it will start up and shut down at idle or when I try to go into gear. I recently replaced the fuel line and tank to eliminate that possibility. The other important bit of info is that the foam on the cover has been severely deteriorating and getting all over the inside of the motor (I've recently cleaned it up the best I could and took all of the remaining foam off. My thought is that the tiny pieces of foam have been clogging the carb. I am not very experienced at working with motors, but I'm learning as I go. Does this sound like a carb jet issue? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• photo263653.jpg
    photo263653.jpg
    180 KB · Views: 0

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Get rid of that foam !-----------The foam would get into the reed valves and hold them open.----------Causes running problems.

Postletown

Cadet
I did get rid of it, how do I clean the reed valves? Or is it too late? Is that what my problem sounds like? Thanks!

merc850

Commander
It's a 1975 era motor. You can check for open reed valves by running the motor and holding a piece of paper in front of the carb, if it blows away from the throat and fuel sprays on to it there's a stuck reed. Will it run while pumping the bulb? Have you replaced the fuel pump diaphragm?

Postletown

Cadet
No, I haven't. And no it doesn't stay running long enough to pump the bulb. I will try the paper test for sure. The thing that gets me is that sometimes the motor will run great then this happens. Would this have anything to do with the carb itself? Is there a chance the particles from the foam are getting stuck in there then blowing out then getting stuck in there again?