1971 Mercury 7.5 ignition problems

Hi all. I am kind of new to this outboard thing, so bear with me. I recently picked up a a 1971 Mercury 7.5Hp with known electrical issues. It was purchased as a spare /parts motor for the 1974 Merc 7.5 I bought a few weeks ago. Now, i bought it sight unseen, under the pretense it was a 1975. Turns out, it is a 1971, so I am not sure what is cross compatible. The 1974 used a CDI ignition (CDI was just replaced on it).
So, now I am left troubleshooting the older '71. I am not finding to much info on testing for the coils and stator. When i started meddling with it, I noted some weak spark on 1 plug, and after a few pulls, I have no spark on either.

What is the test procedure for these coils? They are green coils marked with "336-4409 B". Also, if they do need replacing, what is the compatible part number?

On the Stator side, What are the readings / test procedure for that. There is a ground wire from the stator to the breaker/ points mounting plate, an orange wire ( to the stop sw) and a green to the ignition coils.

I also noticed there is no condenser. is this normal for this type setup?

RCO

Petty Officer 1st Class
Disconnect the kill wire first to eliminate that as a possibility. Have you cleaned and adjusted the points? The resistance on the stator should be 3200-4000 ohms. Not sure on the coil offhand, but the resistance should be close to one another since it's unlikely they are both bad. I don't think there is an aftermarket coil for the Phasemaker ignition, but I could be wrong. The current Mercury part # is 336-4409A4.

Last edited:

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral