Mercury Bigfoot Pro Kicker 9.9 speed trolling problem

josh213

Recruit
I was wondering if any other Bigfoot Pro Kicker owners have had a problem with slow trolling? This past spring I purchased a new 9.9 Merc Bigfoot Pro Kicker and I haven't really been that happy with it. The throttle is extremely, extremely, touchy. There's sort of no in between of slower trolling and then going what I believe to be too fast. I would like to get down to around 1.2-1.5mph and it's tough for me to get there. And IF I am able to get there I have trouble staying there. If I'm there for any length of time I feel like after a little while the engine just dies down and then I'm around 0.5mph to basically idle. It's been a pain and kind of frustrating. I was wondering if anyone else has had problems slow trolling with the Pro Kicker, and if so what you done to fix the problem?

This is my first ever kicker and I'm not a mechanically incline person so any help or insight anyone might have would be appreciated. Would a new prop help? I started looking into the itroll yesterday. Do you think a product like that would that solve my problem and get me to consistently stay at a slower trolling speed? I haven't talked with the dealer I bought the motor from to see if anything could be adjusted because I wasn't happy with the service. Sometimes it doesn't pay to go with the cheaper place. I'm hoping someone here might be able to point me in the right direction. Thanks for any help anyone could provide.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Well, I typed this out once and the screen froze and I lost everything, so I'll try it again.

This is common on several brands of small 4 strokes, it's partially due to the extremelly lean jetiing required by the EPA emission regulations.