1985 Mercury 18XD

SwampJumper

Cadet
First i would like to say Hello to everyone for i am new to this Form.

Hoping for a little help with this motor. i have a 1985 Mercury 18XD serial # is A186765. I replaced the power pack, plugs, fuel filter, gas lines, and a new line for the tank to the carb. was running great but now it will not start. if i spray just a little starter fluid in it it will run. if i let it set a day or two it will not start and have to use the SF again to get it to run. Any thoughts on this problem.

Thanks in Advance for any help.

SwampJumper

SwampJumper

Cadet
can you explain what and how i do that please. It's almost like the choke is not even working, i can pull it out and nothing moves inside the carb.

Attachments

• IMG_2390.JPG
    IMG_2390.JPG
    344.6 KB · Views: 0

racerone

Supreme Mariner
There is no choke flapper that moves that you would see.-----Look for a system that operates to provide more fuel.-----Post more pictures of carburetor so that can be pointed out to you.

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
Take the hood off of your motor and look on the right side of the carb. While looking there pull the knob out should see an arm drop on to a plastic stem and push on it. That is the primer. Now open the throttle all the way and get a flashlight look down the bore of the carb and pull the choke knob out should see a stream of gas going into the motor everytime you pull on it. It's a small stream of gas so it will be hard to see. Also Make sure the carb is full of fuel when you do this.

SwampJumper

Cadet
Thanks for all the help.

Attachments

• IMG_2390.JPG
    IMG_2390.JPG
    326.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2391.jpg
    IMG_2391.jpg
    293.1 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2392.jpg
    IMG_2392.jpg
    312.2 KB · Views: 0

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Third picture shows the primer unit.-----You might want to check if it in fact works.

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral