Lower shift cable needs replacement??? DIY or take it in?

drun_trucker

Seaman
I just got my first boat two weeks ago and she has been a bit problematic. Granted Im new to boating but by no means new to wrenching. After taking possession of the vessel I had to get it running which was a carb rebuild and fuel pump install.

Well the previous owner took cheap way out from the cable replacement and added a second kiss switch at the helm control. After adjusting the cables at the shift plate I realized why it shifts so hard...It took everything I had to push the drive cable in and out by hand thus leading me to believe its due for a lower cable.

So here is my question, Im good mechanically but have never torn into a boat before. I know the cable needs to be replaced, is it something that I can tackle or do I pay TOP marine service tech money for somebody else to do it?

Or are there certain steps I can do or take to lower my overall cost at the shop?

1986 Mercruiser 3.0 Alpha One outdrive

stonyloam

Vice Admiral
DIY! Probably should do the whole thing: pull the outdrive and check the gimbal bearing and u-joints, rebuild the impeller with a new OEM impeller and housing. If your lower shift cable is that shot, probably should replace the driveshaft bellows too. Use all OEM parts. If your exhaust bellows is in decent shape you can reuse it and save a little. Check that your trim limit switch is working, the time to replace it and the trim gauge is when you do the bellows. While you are at it you should probably replace the upper shift shaft seal with the newer double seal setup. One last thing, when you separate the gear housing from the driveshaft housing, there is a seal at the top of the vertical driveshaft, make sure it is in good shape, they commonly fail. I have done all of that on mine, so if I can do it so can you.

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner