1991 Tidecraft Calypso with 120HP Mercruiser

rayodunne

Petty Officer 1st Class
I just picked up the above boat and have some questions regarding the out-drive gimble bellows. The exhaust bellows is split and upon removing the out-drive I found the drive shaft bellows is full of oil. I did some reading and found that I need to replace the input seal on the lower unit and the bellows.
Here is what I was going to do as preventative maintenance. Let me know if I am missing something please.
1. All 3 Bellows.
2. Lower shift cable
3. Gimble bearing.
4. Water hose.
5. Trim sender. (Trim Gauge does not move from 3/4 up. I am going to run some tests to confirm dead sender.)
6. Water Pump.

The Uni-joints appear OK. No play or corrosion. The move real free compared to the uni-joints new out of the box but that might be normal. Newbie here.
Thanks.
Ray

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Hello Ray,

That all sounds good. If you need help with any of it (including 'how to' videos), or understanding how it works, then at the top of this fourm index page you'll find the 'stickies', one is titled 'Adults Only'... Click that and then Mercruiser Info. You'll find most things you're looking for up there.

Just one thing. Mercruiser stopped supplying the 120 in 1989, so to help, we need the serial number from the engine. Also up in the stickies you'll find a document on where to look for the serial numbers.

Cheers,

Chris......

alldodge

Staff member
I just picked up the above boat and have some questions regarding the out-drive gimble bellows. The exhaust bellows is split and upon removing the out-drive I found the drive shaft bellows is full of oil. I did some reading and found that I need to replace the input seal on the lower unit and the bellows.
Here is what I was going to do as preventative maintenance. Let me know if I am missing something please.
1. All 3 Bellows.
2. Lower shift cable
3. Gimble bearing.
4. Water hose.