1994 Mercruiser 4.3L V6 Raw Water Overcooling

Status
Not open for further replies.

electronG101

Cadet
Hello All -this is my first time on the forum. I have a 1994 Mercruiser 4.3L V6 raw-water cooled engine that I recently acquired and it is overcooling. I ran the engine for nearly 30 mins at over 3500rpm in the lake. The needle on the gauge was pegged all the way to the cold end and did not move at all.

I then tested the gauge by momentarily shorting out the tan signal wire to the block. The needle on the gauge instantly jumped up to full temperature.

Thinking the sensor was bad, I replaced it with a brand new sensor from West Marine. I also checked to make sure that the thermostat housing was getting a good ground, which it was. I performed another trial run in the lake, and the gauge was still pegged all the way on the cold end.

Finally, I replaced the 140F thermostat with a brand new one from West Marine. I then performed yet another test run, and received the same result.

As a note, I felt the top of the thermostat housing with my hand periodically during the trial runs, and it was probably 100-110 degrees -certainly not hot. All of the water cooling hoses were cold except for the hose that carries water into the water pump, which was warmer than the tstat housing, but not super warm/hot.

Despite the overcooling problem, the engine seems to run and perform very well with lots of power on tap.

Ideas? Thanks in advance for the help.

thumpar

Admiral
Re: 1994 Mercruiser 4.3L V6 Raw Water Overcooling

I know there are different thermostat housing designs but does yours have the spacer in it if needs it?

Last edited:

electronG101

Cadet

Hi Thumpar -Thanks for the reply. Yes, it does have a plastic spacer/sleeve that sits ontop of the thermostat inside the housing. The sleeve has two openings in it that allow the hot water to exit the cooling system when the thermostat opens up (ie. above 140F).

thumpar

Admiral