Mercruiser Bravo alignment problem

Andy_Sydney

Cadet
Hi,

I have 2 X Bravo II sterndrives attached to Mercruiser 4.2TD engines. The boat is a Sea Ray 290 SFB. I have been renovating it for the past 2 years. Both engines have been rebuilt from the crank up. Both Bravo Sterndrives and housings were removed, bead blasted and epoxy coated. I re-fitted them as per the instructions in the manual and lowered the engines in.
The port engine aligned fine and the alignment tool slides in and out easily. The starboard alignment is way out.

When the two mounting bolts are out I can reach around and feel the gaps between the flywheel housing and the transom plate. The starboard mount is a lot higher and I can actually turn the fiber washer in the gap with my fingers. The engine sits firm on the port mount. Both front mounts are set to the minimum adjustment.I have tried all combinations with the front mounts. I have also tried aligning the new gimble bearing.

I have attached 2 pictures, one shows the perfectly aligned engine the other shows the visibly off engine. Both pictures look directly at the splines inside the coupler with the crank center hole centered

My question is:

Is it possible that the inner transom plate is wrongly aligned? It would seem to be the only explanation

Many thanks in advance
Andy

Attachments

• 20140318_192959_resized.jpg
    20140318_192959_resized.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 0
  • 20140318_193043_resized_1.jpg
    20140318_193043_resized_1.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 0

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Mercruiser Bravo alignment problem

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Did ya get the rear motor mount stack of bits, 'n pieces in the right order, 'n All the bits,..??

Andy_Sydney

Cadet