First time winterizing.. I think I forgot an important step..Cold temps expected.

BajabossJD

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi Guys,

After moving up from Florida to Atlanta last spring.. This is my first attempt at winterizing. I have a RWC boat and it's covered under covered storage.

I dissconnected all hoses and blew a bunch of water out of the engine. I drained all manifolds and blew the water out of the RW Pump and out the outdrive. I drained all the hoses off the thermostat and blew them out. The large hose on the Starboard side was connected to air and I blew out a gallon of water out of the thermostat. I did this for 30 minutes, getting all the water out that I could (it was warm compressed air). (The water kept surging out until I was all pushed out)

I fogged the engine. But Stabil in.. Batteries are on tender and drive is down.

Well, I forgot to unscrew the drain on the side of the block. Pretty much the most important part.

I am in Orlando until Thursday and I see that it will hit 23 degrees tonight over the wee hours of the morning (It's 50 there now and hasn't been this cold unit the forecast tonight).

It will warm back up to 50 in the AM.

When I get home, I plan on releasing the drain plug and added a magnetic block heater (we don't have brutal winters, but at $40 it seems to be a no brainer..even on a winterized block.

Whats the chances she will crack tonight? Did that procedure I did by blowing all the lines out even help?

Thanks,
Joe

skydiveD30571

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: First time winterizing.. I think I forgot an important step..Cold temps expected.