1986 Four Winns with Mercruiser 140 3.0L Shifting problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

hotraj

Recruit
Hi all,
This is my first boat and I am a newbie so I apologize up front for my ignorance.

Had the boat out 3 times this year, seemed to give me no trouble shifting from neutral to either forward or reverse. This last time out, we were unable to shift into forward gear. I could get reverse every time, but each time trying to get forward to engage, I would still be in neutral. On occasion, while moving from reverse, to neutral, then on to forward, the boat was still in reverse! So throttling forward sent us backwards!

I do have the installation and maintenance manuals and was reading through the cable adjustment sections. It seems that the control lever is causing the cables to actuate properly.

I had a second pair of hands at the prop (out of water and no power) and so we tried pulling the lower cable to engage reverse, the prop was locked when trying to rotate clockwise.

I then pushed the cable all the way in, attempting to engage forward gear, the prop does not catch and still spins freely. On occasion (we tried switching from forward to reverse and back several times to see if would ever engage) and we did hear a faint clicking noise one time. Perhaps the gear being close to engaging?

Is this just the far end of the lower cable being damaged, and is that something I can tackle (I am fairly handy), or something much more serious that I should take in for?

Any thoughts or ideas welcome!

Thanks,
Jason

Bondo

Staff member
Re: 1986 Four Winns with Mercruiser 140 3.0L Shifting problem

Hi all,
This is my first boat and I am a newbie so I apologize up front for my ignorance.