transom plate won't come off

Danny93

Seaman Apprentice
hello, I'm new to iboats and I'm new to boating so double trouble.
I hope I'm in the right forum, I have a mercruiser Alpha one gen2 with a 3.0L engine.
My transom is leaking preatty bad right below the exhaust pipe, I saw water coming in.
I have removed the engine and the outdrive, disconnected the bellows, removed the exhaust, the stearing and the 8 bolts that holds on the inner stransom plate to the outer one.
I have read somewhere, to put something on the outer plate to prevent it from falling once all 8 bolts are off but... that thing won't move!!! it was two of us pushing and pulling sideways, upwards and downwards but nothing. I stared at the hammer I had but I resisted using it, I really don't want to damage something out of desperation so I left and decided t join this forum. Are the 8 bolts with the plastic inside to prevent them from unscrwing all that there is? it feels like it is melted to the transom or something. Any advise on how to remove it?
should it be that hard to pull the two plates apart? ... can I use the hammer? where is the best place to bang that thing?

thank you so much

Danny

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: transom plate won't come off

Once you have those 8 nyloc nuts off, then you should be able to pull the inner transom plate away. Sometimes that do get stuck to the inside of the hull and a little gentle assistance is needed. CAREFULLY slip a screwdriver under the inner plate, at the top. Then another a little further down. Gently work the screwdrivers down and the inner plate should come off. The outer (gimbal housing) will need the same treatment, but maybe a little firmer...

Good luck,

Chris......

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Chris is Right,... Be gentle with pryin' the inner plate off,...

No Hammers,...

04fxdwgi

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,... Chris is Right,... Be gentle with pryin' the inner plate off,...