MerCruiser 4.3L Ignition Issue - Help Needed

Stingray83

Recruit
I have a 1999 Stingray with a I/O 4.3L Mercruiser. This past weekend I ran the boat for about 4 hours with no issues. After letting the engine rest for about 20 minutes, we started it up again to do some wakeboarding. The engine started running rough. It never turned off, but I could feel it sputter a couple of times. We ran the engine for another 90 minutes or so, cutting it off in between riders. On our last attempt to fire up the engine, it wouldn't turn over. No clicking or anything. Turning the key did nothing. I think this may be an ignition issue, but I am really new to boat ownership and I am completely lost. I checked the battery and it had a full charge. I changed out the ignition fuse (based on a previous issue we had last season) and that got the engine to crank a couple times before dying again. Then it went back to not making any sound when turning the key; no clicking, nothing.

Some people on the dock said it may be the ignition coil, but I don't want to start fixing things if they aren't really the issue. Thanks for any advice this post may generate.

alldodge

Staff member
Re: MerCruiser 4.3L Ignition Issue - Help Needed

Your going to need volt meter.
Turn the key switch to run and see if your getting 12 volts to purple wire on the posative side of the coil. If 12 volts is present next check the Yel/Red wire going to the slave solenoid and have someone turn the key to start and see if you get 12 volts there. If 12 volts is not present check the key switch and connections leading to it. Could be a bad switch or connection. Attached wiring diagram should help.

4_3L elect diag.jpg

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus