350 Mag Bravo 1 WOT RPMs Low.. Newby needs help

S8861

Seaman Apprentice
Hello All,

I have a 350 Mag MPI.. Manufactured Jan 2006:

Motor: W617548 Drive: W905294 Gimble: W491858

This is mated to a Bravo One outdrive.

My question is as follows: My motor has started to top out at 4200 RPMs at WOT. I can hit the same number at 3/4 throttle. When I push it down to WOT or 100% throttle, the engine gets louder, but the RPMs do not increase. Prior to the last time I went out for a run, I was able to get closer to 5100 RPMs and faster on the GPS.

Other Info. When turning the key, there is only one audible beep, so I know the 'trouble chime' is working. All other gauges read within spec and there's no additional beeping when underway, or at cruising or WOT. (Temp is 160 to 170, Water/Oil/Voltage, etc. read normal)

As I'm totally new to Marine/Mercruiser engines any suggestions common culprits and on the sequence that should I start troubleshooting?

Change Fuel Filter?
Check Fuel Pump?
Check Distributor/Plugs/Wires?
Prop Rotation?

3/4 throttle gets me to 42mph on the GPS, and WOT only increases the noise, but not the speed. (I was getting just under 50 prior to this)

Let me know what other info you might need to know.

Thanks,

Sam

S8861

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 350 Mag Bravo 1 WOT RPMs Low.. Newby needs help

PS found this list in the stickies...

Below is more info for the things I did check

1. Fuel condition. Type and Octane possibly old fuel === Just filled up last week
2. Propeller pitch or diameter, damaged blades === prop looks fine
3. Restricted fuel pickup tube or anti siphon valve Fuel System Test
4. Crankcase oil volume, high oil level can cause aerated oil and lifter collapse === Oil volume is at right level on dipstick
5. Marine growth on hull and outdrive === No growth here
6. Wrong gear ratio in outdrive === No changes made to outdrive