Can I flush my I/O Engine After Use If It stays Moored in Saltwater?

moe1279

Recruit
Hi,

I'm new to I/O engines, coming from an outboard. I used to hook up a garden hose with my outboard tilted up to flush it out after a fishing trip. Can this process be done on an I/O that stays docked in saltwater? If so, can someone point me where to find information on how to do this?

Many Thanks!

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Can I flush my I/O Engine After Use If It stays Moored in Saltwater?

DO NOT run the engine with the drive tilted all the way up.

What drive do you have?

Cresco750

Petty Officer 2nd Class

My boat lives on a dry stack. It's raw water cooled so unlike a majority of boat wonders around here I DO choose to flush my engine after use. I do it while its still sitting on the water so the engines still hot, and the thermstat will open allowing a more complete flush. I looked into installing a series of plumbing fittings and taps upstream of the powersteering cooler which would allow a fresh water hose to be connected and the sea water shut off. In the end I went away from the idea and now I just tilt the drive up, slip a set of flush muffs on while standing on the swim platform, trim drive down, run engine for about ten minutes (I hold my hand on the thermostat housing and feel for two complete opening cycles). Job done. Yes, it is a it of faffing around at the end of each trip, but I figure its worth it in the long run? I also added an extension piece of hose to my muffs which allow me to connect a Salt-away dispenser to the process, which I can turn on and off from above water line.
Of course, the big variable here is whether or not you are able to reach over the back and fit the muffs to your drive?