No Power Help ME PLEASE......

Dollars

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,
I wanted to see if someone could help me. This is my first project boat and first time I ever tried a project this big. I got a 1989 Sea Ray Seville 20ft with a 1988-89 Mercruiser 4.3 L ( 2BBL GM 262CID ) serial on the boat motor is # B914147.
I took the motor of the boat to re do the floor this spring. I wanted to test the motor while I had it out and may be dress it up a little. I had to replace the starter and I was able to Jump the slave Solenoid ( red/ pur + red /yel ) to make the starter turn but the motor would start.. I noticed that I didn't have the Ignition module plugged connected . I Reconnected the module and grounded the wires back, tried to jump again . It turned the starter then nothing. Every time I try to jump it ( S S red/ pur + red /yel ) I'm not getting power to the starter nor do I hear the S S click . I think I fried something when I connected the module and tried to jump it again.

I had the starter retested that's fine, had the battery tested and that's fine I reset the circuit breaker but still nothing.

I read on some of the forms on jumping the Slave Solenoid and I tried to jump yel/red + yel/red. but since my motor is out of the boat I don't have a key set up ( like the pic. below )

I also tried bypassing the Circuit Breaker and jumping the SS and still nothing ..
Please Help..........
Thanks Mike

Untitled1.jpg

Attachments

• Wire.jpg
    Wire.jpg
    133.6 KB · Views: 0

Dollars

Seaman Apprentice
Re: No Power Help ME PLEASE......

Don ,
Thanks for the write up . I ended up buying a switch ran the wires fired up :) . New question I want to run some bench test on the motor while its out of the boat . What kind of fuel pump do I use ? The original one is still on the boat? I seen videos on you tube I only see a hose from the engine into a gas can and it runs what am I missing ?

Thanks again

Mike B

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus