Gimbal bearing noise

tinkerguy70

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Ok, so I just got back from the last trip on the water until next season and I'm pretty sure that the gimbal bearing is bad in my 3.0 Alpha one.
You can hear a rumbling sort of sound that resonates throughout the hull and it sounds like......well it sounds like a rough bearing in a car to me. The noise is pretty much throughout the RPM range and is constant when in or out of gear.
There are a few places in the RPM range that is kind of goes away or sometimes when making a turn, but it's almost always there.

Am I on the right track here? I'm new to boating, a pretty fair home mechanic, but not real sure about this.

Like I said, it sounds like a bad bearing to me, I'm just seeking a like confirmation here.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Gimbal bearing noise

Pull the outdrive and check it out. Pulling the drive is a 10 minute job, and should be done yearly.

maxum1800

Cadet